My Possible Retirement Asset Allocation

It is time to re-balance the Asset Allocation of my retirement assets.

Here is what I thinking:

US Equities – 35%

Total US Market US Index (Market Cap Style) – 10%
Total US Market US Index (Fundamental Style) – 4%
Large Cap Value US Index – 4%
Small Cap Value US Index – 4%
Dividend US Index – 4%
Consumer Staples US Index – 4%
Berkshire Hathaway – 5%

Non-US Equities – 15%

Global (non-US) Broad Index – 5%
Global (non-US) Value Index – 5%
Global (non-US) Emerging Markets Index – 5%

Bonds – 50%

Short-Term US Treasury Bond Index – 30%
Inflation-Index Bond Index – 10%
US Total Bond Index – 5%
Global (non-US) Total Bond Index – 5%

Any comments?

7 Responses

  1. Mine:

    Ramen: 60%
    Ramen Futures: 35%
    Rice: 5%

  2. I bought Ramon in bulk while in college. I would also by cans of corned beef hash. I would add a couple of spoonfull of the hash to the ramon after it cooked. Yum.

  3. Pray daily.

    In whatever way, to whatever deity seems best.

  4. It seems kind of cautious actually. How close are you to needing it?

  5. I recommend purchasing solely Nortel shares.

  6. Steve:

    I am 25 years from retirement. Going to more stocks in the mix won’t increase my expected return very much, but it will increase my risk (expected return variability) much more so. I do see to be skewing value equities. I might shift 5% from US to non-us equities.

    Brent: I assume you are joking. 100% in one stock would be a dumb/risky idea.

  7. […] purpleslog wrote a fantastic post today on “Comment on My Possible Retirement Asset Allocation by purpleslog”Here’s ONLY a quick extractI am 25 years from retirement. Going to to more stocks in the mix won’t increase my expected return very much, but it will increase my risk (expected return variability) much more so. I do see to be skewing value equities. … […]

Leave a Reply

