3am Purpleslog Crime Blogging

So, I was awoken a little after 3am by a prowler-drunk-disorderly dude outside of my apartment window (a first floor).

At first, I thought the sound might have been several gunshots (pop pop pop)…I am still not sure what made the sound.

I could here the guy yelling and disturbing/smashing things. He said something about breaking windows. He didn’t seem to directing stuff to my apartment but to perhaps the apartments above.

I called 911.

I spoke softly but couldn’t describe him well. I didn’t want to stick my head out the window to get a look and alert him to my presence. I did grab my aluminum bat (“headcrusher”).

He seemed to be gone after a few minutes. I called 911 again and told them that he seemed to be gone. The 911 operator told me that police were on-site but didn’t see him.

A minute later he walked by again. I called 911 and stuck my head out the window. I was able to describe and direct the operator to direct the police to him.

The prowler dude actually could hear me giving his description to the cops.

Prowler: “Dude, are you calling the cops?”

Me: “He is now saying to me – have I called the cops? Blue/green baseball cap slight build, heading west between the buildings”

[Pause]

Operator: “Ok, we got him”.

About 10 minutes later, the officer involved called me. He says the guy is from out of town and staying with some body in the building. That person is drunk and passed out inside and therefore can’t let him in. The cops were going to drive him to a hotel close-by instead.

I hope to fall asleep a few minutes after posting this.

3 Responses

  1. They took him to a hotel? Good lord, you have some nice cops there in Milwaukee.

  2. Dude, how’d it turn out? Did the Prowler come back for revenge? Why would the police drive him to a hotel close-by? Shouldn’t he have been incarcerated? On the one hand, most of us have been a little unruly at least once under the influence. On the other hand, no one should have to wonder if they are safe in their own home at 3am. I think you did the right thing contacting the police.

  3. Clint:

    “Dude, how’d it turn out? ”

    There wasn’t anything further for me to write.

    “Did the Prowler come back for revenge? ”

    No. 🙂

    “Why would the police drive him to a hotel close-by? ”

    I guess they decided it wasn’t worth the costs to the city to cite and jail him and that he wasn’t a threat.

    “Shouldn’t he have been incarcerated?”

    I guess they decided it wasn’t worth the costs to the city and that he wasn’t a threat.

Leave a Reply

