Schlitz Beer is Back…and Coming to Milwaukee

I was excited when the classic Schlitz formula was re-introduced.

It is coming back to Milwaukee next week!

From JSOnline:

The original formula for Schlitz beer, which was last widely used over 30 years ago, will soon be available in Milwaukee as part of the effort to revive that once-popular brand.

The beer, which is being marketed as the Schlitz “Classic 1960’s Formula,” will be launched Tuesday in Milwaukee, it was announced today. Pabst Brewing Co., which owns the Schlitz brand, will stage an event at noon at the former Brown Bottle restaurant, now Libiamo Restaurant, 221 W. Galena St. The restaurant is in the heart of Schlitz Park, the office park created out of the former Schlitz brewery.

The Classic Schlitz is sold in six-pack and 12-pack bottles, and carries a more “full-bodied taste,” with a bit more flavoring from hops than Schlitz in cans, which remains unchanged, according to Pabst executives.

Schlitz had been available only in cans for several years until Pabst began selling it in bottles last year in Minneapolis and Tampa, Fla. In April, Pabst began selling bottled Schlitz in Chicago.

“We are proud to bring the beer that made Milwaukee famous back home to the generations of Schlitz lovers who have enjoyed it for years,” said Brad Hittle, chief marketing officer at Schlitz, in a statement.

Following the launch event, the ceremonial first delivery will be made to Libiamo Restaurant. The beer will also be distributed to over 50 other locations in the Milwaukee area. Stops on the delivery tour include: Libiamo, Sobelman’s, Comet Cafe, Wolski’s, Nomad, Y Not II and Ragano’s.

Yeah!

12 Responses

  1. Dear Sirs
    My Grandfather and Father had the
    Southwest side Dist of Schlitz in
    Chicago, J A Kauz & sons. Inc.
    How could i inquire about a
    Distributorship. Any help would
    helpful. I live in Downers Grove, ILL.

    YOURS TRULY

    James A. Kauz SR

  2. Dear Sirs
    My Grandfather and Father had the
    Southwest side Dist of Schlitz in
    Chicago, J A Kauz & sons. Inc.
    How could i inquire about a
    Distributorship. Any help would be
    helpful. I live in Downers Grove, ILL.

    YOURS TRULY

    James A. Kauz SR

  3. I believe that the brand is now owned by the Papst Brewing Company (which is also no longer in Milwaukee). I would try contacting them.

  4. Schlitz beer is a GREAT beer. Great taste. SMOOTH..I just wish I could get it here in Syracuse, N.Y. I have not yet found an outlet locally selling it, but still trying..
    This Beer needs to be sold over the internet, then you can get your beer of choice anytime.
    In May 2008 I had a couple of Schlitz’s with deep fried cheese curd at the OLD FASHION Rest. in Madison, Wisc at the Capital, what a great resturant. The food was GREAT and the beer was only $1.50/can.

    This resturant sells 1000 cans of Schlitz a month.
    Can’t wait to go back to Madison, Wisc.
    Great Town!!!

  5. I am going to try to track down classic Schlitz this weekend and ice it up good for a taste test!

  6. Pabst moved their HQ from Texas and is now located here:

    9014 Heritage Rd., Ste. 308
    Woodridge, IL 60517
    Phone: 630-972-3830

  7. I have been unable to get any yet!

  8. The new…er old Schlitz is a test market right now and is slowly bieng rolled out in the midwest. Upper midwest specifically. My family, well, uncle now owns a beer distributorship here in South West Central Illinois. (Dad retired and sold out to uncle). We can’t get the new Schlitz yet. The DM was supposed to send a case but hasn’t yet. I may have to have my buddies up in Chicago pick me up one or two cases.

    My dad and uncle went to a brewery meeting in Bolingbrook a year or so ago when they just began brewing the reformulated Schlitz. They said it was very good.

  9. I still have been able to get any myself yet. It is going quick in Milwaukee.

  10. Good grief, I Google “Schlitz” and find this website. Small world!

  11. Tony J….

    Are you who I think you are?

  12. I have tasted the new old Schlitz. I will post later tonight on it.

Leave a Reply

