The “7” Meme

Having been tagged by Subadei allow me to present the rules:

The Rules:
1. Link to your tagger and post these rules on your blog.
2. Share 7 facts about yourself on your blog, some random, some weird.
3. Tag 7 people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blogs.
4. Let them know they are tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.
5. [Subadei also added this one] Present an image of martial discord from whatever period or situation you’d like

Here are my “7”:

1) I start my new job in less then 48 hours.

2) My dislike of clown surfaced when I was in College. I threaten to beat into bloody pulps two clowns on an elevator with me. They were talking loud. They tried to engage me in conversation. They tapped my shoulder. I almost exploded on them. I am a pretty big guy…so the clown shut the @^$&*^@ up for the rest of the ride.

3) About five years ago I noticed that when I am tired or stressed I leave out negative words when I type in casual conversation (email, IM, blogs). For example: “You shouldn’t do that…” becomes “you should do that” and “no” and “nots” are dropped/skipped. I am a lousy typer to begin with, this makes it worse.

4) I have two giant bookshelves in my bedroom filled up with unread, “on-deck” books. I’ll get to them eventually. I love having books all around me. I have unread books in every room of mine but my my bathrooms.

5) German anti-terrorism police have pointed MP5s at me in unfriendly way while using impolite tones (“yelling”) of voice. I have had more run ins with German police then with American police. I was born and raised in the US (I still reside here). I have spent less then two weeks in Germany.

6) I have never fired a handgun. I’d like to though. Any suggestions?

7) I named my first computer with a Girls name for no apparent reason. Years later it occurred to me that my kindergarten crush had the same name. I always wondered what happened to her. Alas, she missed out on future PurpleLoving. I just did a quick google search. She is not to be found. 😦

Since I took so long in reply, I will not tag anybody else.

Modern Combat Sports – Mixed Martial Arts for Fun and Profit

7 Responses

  1. Never fired a handgun?

    Your upbringing was seriously deficient, young man.

    Get thee to an indoor shooting range (they’re in the phone book) and rent you a .22 Long Rifle or .38 Special REVOLVER (you’re not ready for a semi-automatic yet) and shoot up a 50-round box of ammo.

    By the time you’re out of ammo you will know.

  2. I have fired .22 rifles (when I was in Boy Scouts). I was pretty good compared to my peers.

    I usually went to Boy Scout camp for a week during the summers. One summer I had punchered my ear drum a few weeks before camps, so I couldn’t do water activities. I spent a lot of time at the rifle range instead (and at the subsequent summers).

    I didn’t realize I could rent a handgun at a range. I will defined look into that.

  3. “I start my new job in less then 48 hours.”

    Well now, this may not be true after all.

  4. “Well now, this may not be true after all.”

    I hope that’s good news.

    C4’s advice is sage. Get to know the aspect of the handgun and then move up from there to higher calibers. And then, like me, get tired of the hyperinflated prices for handgun ball rounds and buy a rifle, something Russian, like an SKS. My Sig is fun, but pricey at $25 for a box of 50 rounds. My SKS is fun but not at all pricey as I can get 600 rounds for about $140.

    You will, of course, expound a bit on the German AT police, I hope. Such a story bears the hallmark of a true foreign travel personal legend. I’ve got many and so I know.

  5. “Well now, this may not be true after all.”

    Minor hiccup. It started as scheduled. I’ll have week one notes over the weekend (the highlights will include photos of Lenin and excesses of urine).

  6. OK, I have added the handgun tryout to my 3month (Julythru Sept plan).

    “You will, of course, expound a bit on the German AT police, I hope. Such a story bears the hallmark of a true foreign travel personal legend. I’ve got many and so I know.”

    I’ll see if I can dig up the photo one of my travelling companions took.

  7. Ammo doesn’t have to be expensive, Jay. Had one of these for .38 Special 30 years ago. Worked. Just make sure you get the primers seated properly or they will be too high and bind up your revolver.

    purp might try this if he ends up exercising his RKBA.

Leave a Reply

