• My Tweats

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Flickr Photos

My Favorite Song of All Time: Cole Porter’s Night and Day

This started out as a comment but, I making it a post.

1) Cole Porter wrote the song for Fred Astaire:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YV5e7mWcQJE


There is a very nice/different version Astaire recorded in the 1950’s that I can’t find on-line. You can hear a clip here (The band is Oscar Peterson’s trio):

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000WT87OU/ref=dm_dp_trk25?ie=UTF8&qid=1232025487&sr=1-4


2) This is the First Frank Sinatra version:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXAvWv4mPHc


It still sends shivers up my spine.

3) Here is a live version of U-2’s cover which turns it into a Rock Love Anthem:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oymNbCTZDAc


4) Here is a nice/raw/live street version that captures the song just right:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6wi0ust36Sw


5) There is a Wikipedia entry.

6) Here are the wonderful lyrics:

Like the beat beat beat of the tom-tom
When the jungle shadows fall
Like the tick tick tock of the stately clock
As it stands against the wall
Like the drip drip drip of the raindrops
When the summer shower is through
So a voice within me keeps repeating you, you, you

Night and day, you are the one
Only you beneath the moon or under the sun
Whether near to me, or far
Its no matter darling where you are
I think of you

Day and night, night and day, why is it so
That this longing for you follows wherever I go
In the roaring traffics boom
In the silence of my lonely room
I think of you

Day and night, night and day
Under the hide of me
Theres an oh such a hungry yearning burning inside of me
And this torment wont be through
Until you let me spend my life making love to you

Day and night, night and day


Great Lyrics + Great Music = Timeless Songs
6 Responses

  1. I was wondering why you didn’t use the imbed code in wordpress for the youtube videos?

  2. The one that is different from the one provided by youtube, that is.

  3. Love Night and Day !! My favorite song of all time is Begin the Beguine, also by Cole Porter (who is my favorite composer). There are many versons of Begin the Beguine, in English, and in other languages, mostly French and Spanish (they loved Cole in Europe and Latin America). Begin the Beguine is the LONGEST popular song ever written (so I’ve read). And it doesn’t keep repeating itself, itis like a long string unwinding from a spool. Unfortunately, most people who sing this song, shouldn’t. It’s hard to sing because it is so long, and the melody isn’t simple, and you need to sing to a Rhumba beat to be true to what Cole wanted. The best version I’ve ever hear is in the movie “Night and Day” starring Cary Grant. The very wonderful Carlos Rameriz sings it in a music/dance number in the movie. If you like this song, see that movie !!

  4. The song “Begin the Beguine” is a great one. Let your ears feast on this street video version:

  5. …and here is a version by Pete Townshend of The Who:

  6. Etta James

Leave a Reply

