• My Tweats

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Flickr Photos

    IMG_0526

    After 2.5 hours of breaking in a new rawhide bone...

    spa day 2

    spa day 3













    More Photos

Now What(?) or Bubbles on The Horizon…

…are listed at ChicagoBoyz (Lexington Green).  I think this is the key:

The foundations of the opposition are crumbling before our eyes.

We are on the verge of a table-clearing, systemic regime collapse.

Once in a century change is coming.

I am interested in politics, history and public policy. My career is not part of that world.

For the most part, think of me an “Armchair Senator”.

The changes that are coming…and the possibilities of what comes afterwards…means people like me can’t standoff any longer. We must get involved. I must get involved.

Now what?

Update 10/6/2010: I thought the post was by Shannon Love. It seems to be Lexington Green. (Thanks to CGW for noticing!)

These bubbles are at least  distracting

17 Responses

  1. Many things are in motion. They’ve been in motion for a long time. The problem is that everyone, such as the above linked, are still locked in their legacy narratives, a lock in made worse by the fact that wolves aren’t picking off more baby boomers as they fall to the back of the pack. At this point nobody has arrived at the right solution. The solutions offered propose to keep doing the wrong things we’ve been doing for the last fifty years only this time more aggressively.

    • It is hard to think of the future when one is focused on the daily of activities of living now.

      I only jest a bit with the “Future Will Be Kludged” thing. It won’t be planned. It won’t be optimal. Just read the great science fiction stories of the last 100 years, prediction wasn’t that great.

      At best we can kludge or nudge a little in a direction we prefer…until a “black swan” causes a radical change that we all scramble to react/adjust to.

      In many ways, I consider my life to be failure (wasted potential). While I make a good living and am financially comfortable, I don’t think I made any mark on the world for real. Growing up, I always thought I would. I haven’t been a breakout success as an entrepreneur. I got turned off on politicians when I got close up to them in college, and thus I have never gone in that direction. The Cold War I was preparing to fight, ended as I was about to enter it. I have made no great inventions or scientific discoveries. I have written no stories that are cherished by others.

      So, what I have I been reading and studying and preparing for? Maybe this is this. Time to get in the game.

      • “In many ways, I consider my life to be failure (wasted potential). ”

        In many ways, I am in the same boat. Unfortunately, I also think that any, ahem, dreams I had were always fantastical and most likely idle chatter in my head anyway; so from this point of view, my dreamed potential, having been false from the first, wasn’t wasted. It was never meant to be. Since it now is not, I have been successful in that.

        Truthfully though, I never had strong dreams, even when younger, at least not dream goals. There too, it seems I have turned out something less than a failure, since I’ve adhered to that weak dreaming.

        Each day, the future concerns me less and less. I see my young nephews and niece and think, Haha! The future is theirs! They will get the glory or the pain; I’ve had mine already.

        This is somewhat comforting. Whatever oddness comes, it’ll be more in their hands than in mine.

        As for being somewhat comfortable etc. right now — well, sure, but it’s boring as hell most days. I think that even we who have tread our paths would be up to the challenge of future challenges, if they are important enough to bother over.

      • P.S. Shannon Love is an ass. And what’s worse: a dumb ass.

        In Rome, Shannon Love would have been singing an aria while Nero fiddled. And giving him googly eyes.

      • P.P.S. Was it S.L. who posted that, though?

        • Shit!! I thougt it was!!!! The link now says Lexington Green. I have to correct my post.

          • Ha well my comments re: Shannon Love still stand.

            As for Lexington….I will only say that there is an exuberance or truly euphoric idealism that seems to lie behind many current Libertarian and Tea Party spokespersons which has a bubble-like sheen.

            Back to being comfortable though: what is it about the comfort experienced by many Tea Partiers that has them so troubled by the system which has allowed them that comfort? I’ll have to think on this one. I mean, Sarah Palin QUIT her job and it’s not like she’s having to struggle…..

  2. wolves aren’t picking off more baby boomers as they fall to the back of the pack.

    Heh.

    The boomers have been a curse to my country and my Generation (X).

    Is Generation X really Generation F….the Fucked Generation? I think we are going to end up taking one for the team. OUt present/future was fucked up the boomers. We are going to pay the price and set the future generations back on the right track.

  3. …what is it about the comfort experienced by many Tea Partiers that has them so troubled by the system which has allowed them that comfort?

    When I say comfortable, I mean I am not poor. I do not struggle to make ends meet. I can afford such extra/nice stuff.

    I am not rich. I drive a 2000 model year car (I went 11 years on my prior car). I have been able to save money up. I have lived beneath my means in order to do so. I have not piled up debt.

    There is a brittleness to this “comfort”. In the last 10 years I have four extended period of unemployment. I will most likely be unemployed again in 2/2011. I feel I am facing lots of risk and uncertainty…much more at this point in my life then what my parents faced.

    A lot of this uncertainty/risk is caused by the federal government.

    Here is what scares me: The gigantic amount of debt USGOV is amassing. So the PV of the debts is goring. The Gov is a the same time taking actions that will retard economic growth.

    In the current crisis, USGOV has done many things to protect the bad actors at the expense of the good actors. It fucking sucks.

    Don’t listen to the dumb ass press…deflation is not the problem the US is going to face. Inflation is going to be the problem. USGOV is printing money like crazy to “stimulate” – HA – the economy. The infusion of cash is going to lead to a much higher rate of inflation in the years to come. Policy makers will welcome this – at least privately – as this will reduce the real value of the debt. The losers in the situation will be all of those that have saved. The winners will be all of those who have accumulated debt.

    I will be a loser in this scenario. My savings will degrade to benefit citizens and politician who over spent.

    • Re my inflation fears…one day later[1]:

      The Federal Reserve spent the past three decades getting inflation low and keeping it there. But as the U.S. economy struggles and flirts with the prospect of deflation, some central bank officials are publicly broaching a controversial idea: lifting inflation above the Fed’s informal target.

      The deflation fear is bunk repeated by no-nothing reporters.

      [1]
      http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748704689804575536391713801732.html?mod=WSJ_hpp_LEFTWhatsNewsCollection

      • More today on inflation:

        http://mercatus.org/publication/why-inflation-matters

        In addition, the trillions of dollars spent on the bailouts and stimulus package, as well as the expansion of government spending in the regular budget, create conditions favorable for inflation. Those trillions represent a large degree of deficit spending, and when added on to the trillions in debt accumulated by the Bush administration and those before it, the result is the over $13,000,000,000,000 in federal government debt that currently burdens our economy. That debt needs to be paid off somehow, some way. One way to do so is through inflating the money supply.

        Moderate to high inflation is one of the surest ways to cause havoc in an otherwise productive economy and to undermine most people’s standard of living, especially those in the middle and lower class and those on fixed incomes. Even though many measures of inflationary expectations remain low, those are premised, to some degree, on the belief that the Federal Reserve (the Fed) can painlessly withdraw all of the funds it has injected over the past two years. Those low inflationary expectations also assume that the market for U.S. government bonds will remain strong and that the temptation for the Fed to buy up those bonds and turn them into money will not emerge.

    • Ah didn’t know you were a Tea Partier! 😉

      I like the principles behind the Tea Party. Seeing how we go from here to there though is difficult. Dismantling the federal government — or at least reducing its scope to the Constitutionally mandated and recognized levels — sounds very good in principle; but the arguments run toward the idealistic and very general without any corresponding Plan for America with a specific vision and also specific steps to be taken. I think going from here to there takes one of two routes if the journey continues to be envisioned simplistically: 1) No real change occurs (federal government remains big) even though, or if, Tea Party candidates or those inspired by them make their way into the halls of Congress in large numbers; 2) alternatively, sudden and drastic attempts to make Great Leaps Forward to a limited government system lead to extremely unfortunate, most likely disastrous results, at least for the short term (next couple of decades.) If however the whole process and vision could be better outlined — i.e., not remain merely an ideological and idealistic Tea Party line — we might be able to achieve different results.

      There seems to be (to me at least) a) a general and, imo, justified resentment of the Boomer generation, and b) a frustration w/ the status quo because those who have followed the Boomers are seeing…they themselves will not be able to remain as comfortable as the Boomers have been. In other words, although much derision of the Boomers’ mode of raping the country exists, the frustration grows from a new understanding by those following the Boomers will not have the ability to rape the nation the way the Boomers have. Survivability and minimum comfort levels are not esteemed very much; rather, we must have extravagance or at least some hard-coded certainty that our future comfort is assured. Of course, is using these descriptions I am attempting to describe the younger Tea Party demagogues and activists. To describe the Boomer Tea Partiers in such a manner would be redundant.

      • Ha wrote that without much proofreading. At others have recently said, “Proofreading is over ranted.”

      • I think I go to those feeling utterly and completely during the early parts of the bailout debacle [1].

        I am in agreement with what I think are the Tea Party principles [2]. I think there are in harmony with my beliefs [3] as layed out.

        I am not a joiner – don’t expect to see me at rallies or marches. I prefer to watch them on C-SPAN. I went to some things when I was in college, but I was more of an observer then a participant. I didn’t really like the political types iI interacted with in college – that kind of turned me off to participation.

        Seeing how we go from here to there though is difficult. Dismantling the federal government — or at least reducing its scope to the Constitutionally mandated and recognized levels — sounds very good in principle; but the arguments run toward the idealistic and very general without any corresponding Plan for America with a specific vision and also specific steps to be taken

        Agreed. I actually a 100+ page manuscript (pre-blog) with policy specifics. A few of those eventually made it into blog posts.

        I think the first things to do would be clarity/simplification based: flat-ish taxes w/o really any deductions loopholes. Legislation simplified and split into separate atomic components. Legislation that is too complex for legislators to read…should not be passed (send it down to the states to handle). Loopholes and complexity are used by the elites to reward themselves and their supporters. The political elite class needs to be smashed.

        It is going to be rough going for a few years.

        I think I need to start blogging The Purpleslog Plan for America.

        the frustration grows from a new understanding by those following the Boomers will not have the ability to rape the nation the way the Boomers have.

        I don’t think I would characterize it this way. I see the standard prevailing political POV of boomers being that as opposed/ashamed of their American Heritage which has then made them sympathetic/embracing of our enemies (Totalitarian Leftism, Islamofascism), and unwilling to take responsibility for their own actions (blaming other, expecting other to take the hit or pay for their mistakes). I don’t see how a rape metaphor works here.

        Also, I think there is a big difference between wanting to be comfortable and wanting extravagance. I guess it hard to pin down qualitative terms though.

        [1]
        https://purpleslog.wordpress.com/2008/10/03/congress-enacts-historic-bailout-legislation-for-financial-industry-bush-quickly-signs-it/

        [2]
        https://purpleslog.wordpress.com/2010/09/18/here-is-my-understanding-of-the-tea-partyish-principles/

        [3]
        https://purpleslog.wordpress.com/2008/08/30/what-i-believe/

  4. “I see the standard prevailing political POV of boomers being that as opposed/ashamed of their American Heritage which has then made them sympathetic/embracing of our enemies (Totalitarian Leftism, Islamofascism)”

    The problem w/ that definition, imo, is that Baby Boomers come in both stripes, on the Left and on the Right.

    “and unwilling to take responsibility for their own actions (blaming other, expecting other to take the hit or pay for their mistakes).”

    This however works better because it can be applied across the board. Parsing how it does into Left/Right might be useful, but I’m not sure how useful. I suppose the Left Boomers might have a sense that government should pay their way (especially as they reach retirement age; perhaps also, universal health care). Plus, the Left Boomers might blame Big Oil, Big Business, etc. I suppose the Right Boomers blame immigrants, non-whites (in some cases), homosexuals (in some cases), non-Christians (in some cases.) Also I suppose the Right Boomers are liable to blame the MSM and Hollywood and the ACLU for being less likely to blame those groups and indeed to help those groups. The Left Boomers and the Right Bloomers have also learned to blame each other.

    I don’t see how a rape metaphor works here.

    I see the general Boomer sense of entitlement + the very ubiquitous Boomer hedonism and materialism + the Boomer selfishness in acquiring pleasures and material goods (which they feel entitled to) regardless of the consequences to others and to the nation = Rape of America. Taking their own pleasures, selfish liberties, etc., with nary a thought to the future health of the supplier of those things seems like rape to me.

  5. I definitely have an anti-left bias!

    I suppose I mention the lefty-boomers because I mostly only come into contact with Lefty-boomers or nonpolitical-boomers. I know there must be right-boomers out there, but they are either not in my world or they are keeping their mouths shut. I do have two former boomer bosses who are a bit conservative/libertarian (one a former Israeli commando, one a former air force AC-47 gunship gunner). While anti-hippy, they were mostly non-political.

    I understand better now your analogy. I don’t think I will use it, but I see where you are coming from.

    I guess I don’t really consider the real “right-wing” a threat to the country, because they are pretty tiny and isolated. I see the left shaping/influence\ing everywhere.

    There isn’t much I can do about any of it anyways. Not this weekend!

Leave a Reply

