• My Tweats

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Flickr Photos

Me and Mitch Daniels: Crossing him off for 2012

I like what Mitch Daniels is doing in Indiana -Fiscal fixer with the  social conservative agenda not being that important. So far so good, right?

Alas, he likes the VAT Tax – a type of consumption tax.

In general, consumption tasks are a good thing (only non-savings, non-investment gets taxed).

A VAT though is a hidden tax. It is a little tax at each stage of the production and delivery of a good or service. The tax burden is hidden from the view of voting citizens.  A tax system based on hidden taxes can be manipulated  by the elites and the “connected” for their own benefit and to reward their supports.

Implementing a Hidden Tax System goes against the principles of what I hope the next USA will become.

I will not support a VAT or anybody who does.

Even if they ride a Harley.
Governor Mitch Daniels (R-IN)

5 Responses

  1. I’m not a big fan of a VAT either, but for me it’s not a dealbreaker. If he did become president I doubt that it would ever be seriously considered. I’m more interested in how he actually governs and from what I’ve read he appears to be governing well.

    I’ve said before that I think a Daniels-Jindal ticket is the best option for the Republican party. The approach should be a message of demonstrated, competent, fiscally responsible governance. If the Republicans decide to go in a more socially conservative or populist direction then that is a dealbreaker.

  2. IN fairness, I really like what he is doing as Governor…including cleaning up the time zone craziness!

    The repubs have some good governors they can turn to for future Pres runs – Daniels, Cristie. Jindal, Barber – all come to mind.

    The approach should be a message of demonstrated, competent, fiscally responsible governance. If the Republicans decide to go in a more socially conservative or populist direction then that is a dealbreaker

    I agree 100% with the above.

  3. I wish Daniels would run. I can except a Flat-ish Income Tax (or consumption tax if it has a nice deductible) or a National Sales Tax Consumption Tax. I just don’t like the VAT because it is hidden, thus politicians can increase taxes and spending in a sneaky way.

  4. In his book, which I reading now, Daniels does not call for VAT. He has a few negative words about it.

    I wish he had run.

Leave a Reply

