My Favorite TV Shows 2010-2011ish Season

The Top 2:

Doctor Who – The writing, the acting, and the music…the current season has me hooked fully.  Matt Smith  has turned out to be the best Doctor and the story lines have matured and modernized. This was my favorite show for the past season.

Louis – A comedy/drama unlike any show. Season Two this summer has gotten better with each episode. It is an amazing show.

…and the rest in no particular order…

Archer – A LOL Spy parody/celebration/throwback. Enjoy these clips!

How I Met Your Mother – Funny Sitcom with dramatic moments. Two more season to go.

Big Bang Theory – The season started weak as Sheldon and Friends, but it ended strong as an expanded ensemble comedy.

Outsourced – A fish-out-of-water sitcom as an American is transferred to India to take over his company’s newly outsourced call center. The show was sweet and funny. PC types called it racists…which says more about them then the show. It was not renewed after its one season.

Modern Family – A sitcom that seems traditional but is executed perfectly…perfectly amusing!

Wilfred – A failed suicidal man dealing with an early mid-life crisis has a dog come into his life that he can communicate with it. Or possibly a man in a dog suit. Or possible he is insane. Hilarity and drama commence.

Community – A sitcom based around a fun ensemble cast with lots (but not too much) pop culture references and meta-humor.

Men of  Certain Age – A comedy/drama about men just past their prime. Alas, it has since been cancelled.

Terriers – Low-rent private ivestiagtors…great acting and stories. Also cancelled (after just one season).

Detroit 1-8-7 – This standard homicide detective show was elevated by superior acting, stories and the shows look and feel. Also cancelled  (after just one season).

Justified – Season 2 of this modern western improved upon its great premier season.

The Good Wife – A lawyer based drama but with excellent execution, acting and story-lines. I watched the premier by accident and have been hooked since then,

Mentalist – It seems to be a traditional detective/crime show but is enhanced by the acting/antics/PoV of the main character.

Shark Tank – An entrepreneurship reality show of sorts.

Red Eye w/ Greg Gutfeld – My favorite late night show…though I like The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson as well.

Tekzilla – A technology news and demo show available on the web

The following are my top podcast choice. They are not TV shows, but I am using them to substitute for radio listening and TV viewing:

The Adam Carollo Podcast – Humor from Adam’s life and PoV on things.

Buzz Out Loud – A light hearted end-of-the day technology news roundup show

Hardcore HistoryThe top – but infrequent – history podcast

The Nerdist – Pop Culture Humor from the Nerd/Geek PoV

5 Responses

  1. Just started watching Dr. Who — so far I’ve gone through 3 doctors in 4 episodes… It’s an interesting way to watch the series…

  2. Which ones are you seeing? My suggestions is to start with the revival series which are stream able on Netflix or Amazon Prime VOD.

    The original shows are not all available on DVD and less on streaming. You can start the new “Season 1” without needing to know to the older shows.The revived show is pretty good. The stories are good and the production budgets are much better then the original shows.

    I was in High School when D4 Tom Baker episodes started to show on PBS in Milwaukee. So I kind of think of him as “My Doctor” and Sara Jane as my companion. It was great when she reappeared in the new show.

    I was able to see D5 and D6 in college on Madison’s PBS station. They were okay. I really liked the The D6 season long story “Trial of a Time Lord”.

    The D8 movie was okay. Mostly I remember watching it with friends at another house. A cat kept attacking and biting me in a not friendly way.

    I saw D7 later when my roommate “acquired” them on VHS from somebody in the UK.

    I like D9 he was great as a comeback for the show. D10 was good to.

    Matt Smith – D11- is awesome though.

    I was able to watch D9 and some of D10 on the SciFi channel.

    I don’t have BBC America, so I watched the rest of D10 on Netflix streaming when it became available.

    After watching the first season of D11 on Netflix – I couldn’t wait. I have been watching them through Amazon VOD, the only show I do that for.

  3. Two Updates:

    Buzz Out Loud is going to a Weekly from a MTWRF schedule. That sucks.

    I tried to watch the original Australian version of Wilfred. It is terrible….even with the same guy as both co-creator and playing Wilfred. The changes they made to bring it to FX were all good choices.

  4. Both NCIS series, Top Gear (British original is better, but American is coming along), Gangland and Deadliest Warrior in small doses, assorted food shows on Travel Channel.

    Haven and Alphas on SyFy, Unforgettable on CBS are shaping up to be good.

  5. Thank you for valuable post… I like to see this type of posts.

Leave a Reply

