• My Tweats

  • Flickr Photos

5-sentence email?

43 Folders has a short post Guy Kawasaki & the art of the 5-sentence email.

I have many times had problems when writing very short emails. Since most human communication is non-verbal, often my short email has been interpreted by co-workers as being curt or standoff-ish or mean or evil (yes, evil).

Mostly, I have been trying to make short phone calls instead of short emails, or following up a short email with a phone call to avoid those problems.

I used to complain that the real problem was my co-workers were stupid, or drama queens or hyper-sensitive dinks or just should be fired an replaced with robots, but strangely that attitude wasn’t useful.

You have to accept the world as it is sometimes and deal with others as they are, not as you want them to be.

Even if they are dinks.

At least until robots get better.

2 Responses

  1. I think “until robots get better.” is a fine life motto.

  2. I have been looking for a new blog tagline…

Leave a comment